Singing in the Rain

Laura Bush is now sitting as the chair of a group that is advocating all Americans to learn the Star Spangled Banner. Admittedly, no one knows the song, and as good Americans we really should know our own anthem. The unfortunate reality is, few of us know anything about the War of 1812, and the song is really hard to sing. I can’t do it, and I try to sing everything. There are notes that are not even close to being reached by most people. Laura, I suggest we change the anthem to Sympathy For the Devil by the Rolling Stones. Everyone likes the Rolling Stones, they will never go away, and the title is quite fitting at the moment.

3 thoughts on “Singing in the Rain

  1. As you probably know, there’s long been an effort to change the anthem to “This Land Is Your Land” by Woody Guthrie. So much as it’s tempting to have an anthem by a Popular Front artist, it would really only add one more lie to our lives, since in the current atmosphere especially, that song is about as true as the last six words of the Pledge of Allegiance.

    “Sympathy for the Devil” is a good alternative suggestion, though it would have to be modifed slightly to fit the US mindset just right, e.g., “Please let me introduce myself, I’m a man of wealth and . . . NO TASTE WHATSOEVER!”

  2. Lots of us old guys know the national anthem. I can even sort of sing it (as well as I can sing anything), if it’s shifted down a few notes.

    Those of us who grew up in the 50s were taught the national anthem in school and we recited the pledge of allegiance at the beginning of each school day.

    😉

  3. I though US schoolkids still recited the pledge (I’m English, by the way, so please correct my ignorance where necessary).

    Anyway, I like the idea that you’d change your anthem from a song commemorating a war against England to one written by an Englishman.

Leave a Reply

