Never Trust an Egyptian Woman

I have a dreadful admission to make. In the summer network television tries to prop up ratings by creating making another mini-series for all of us. This year ABC made Empire, a series telling a fictional tale about Augustus Caesar rise to power. And my admission is that I am addicted to it.

If you put all of history to the side and just watch this series ‘as is’ then I will say many of you will be pleasantly surprised. It is shot well and some of the scenes are most extravagant. I also enjoy many of the actors, because I do not know really any of them. The costuming and the set are done well, its just that story is less than great. It is worthy of summertime television.

But is enjoying this series wrong of me? I was supposed to have been a student of the classical world at one time, I should reject this viscerally and without much thought, but here I am every Tuesday at 10.

For those of you who have seen the show, and do not know anything about history, just so you know, TYRANNUS IS NOT REAL! Yes one of our main characters is a fictional MacGuffin to move the plot along.

For those of you who do like the series take the next step and take a year out of your life to read The Decline and Fall of the Roman Empire. This is after our story, but a great Roman History book.

Leave a Reply

