White Weddings

This weekend I was in the wedding of a very good friend from high school. Even though my own personal views on marriage conflict with the whole idea, I was more than honored to be a part of it. It was especially fun because I got to stand on her side of the wedding party. This slight bit of gender bending, I am sure, spun the wheels of thought for a few attendees.

One of the many lessons I take from this wedding are that the state and religion are inextricable intertwined and I am not sure if they can ever be separated. I listened during the rehearsal and during the actual ceremony the line “by the power vested in me by God Almighty and the State of Ohio I now pronounce you man and wife.”

It is so interesting that God and Ohio make it into the same sentence, of course God is first, but that is a moot observation. If the church would give up some of this authority, they would not have to be plagued with a debate abut gay marriage. Let the state be the only and official dealer in marrying people, and let the church sanctify which ever unions they choose.

The state and religions are not now, nor should they be shocking to me. Standing beside that pastor and here him call on both authorities weirded me out a little it. This man (a nice, yet slightly odd Midwestern) has governmental authority to grant or deny legality. That is a truly awesome power that made me think “Can we actually tear this asunder?”

PS Also, I look great in formal wear! 😉

Leave a Reply

