How Many Continents are there?

I now pose a question to everyone. How many continents are there is this world?

I was taught that there are seven:

  • South America
  • North America
  • Asia
  • Africa
  • Australia
  • Antarctica
  • Europe

I just found out that my school teaches that there are five continents:

  • America (including north and south)
  • Asia
  • Africa
  • Oceania (includes Australia)
  • Europe

I started asking my coworkers and one even said there were six continents!

  • America (including north and south)
  • Asia
  • Africa
  • Oceania (includes Australia)
  • Europe
  • Antarctica

The people in the 5 camp say Antarctica is not a continent because it is not inhabited, and if you had to it would be included in America.

How can something simple as counting continents be something up for grabs? I understand the thinking about North and South America as one regions (America), but I do not believe this excludes the region from being two continents. I mean there is a lot less holding North America and South America together than Asia and Europe.

Leave a Reply

